Beach Towelling Dress or another hacked Rowan Tee

La Folie - Beach Rowan Tee

One of my favorite RTW kids clothes brand is Boden, I love the vibrant colors and fun prints. Absolutely my cup of tea! One of the things I usually bought from them was their “towelling beach dresses”. You see, we usually spend our beach vacation at one of Portugal’s most beautiful beaches, and though I love that place with all my heart I have to admit it gets a bit cold close to sunset. I always take a cardigan or sweater but a cozy beach dress is much cooler. M. just outgrown beyond a doubt her last towelling dress from Boden, wearing it last year was a big stretch already hahahah Poor girl… So I knew I had to buy a new one this year.

La Folie - Beach Rowan Tee

But then I saw a photo from NOSH showing a new striped terry that was exactly what I needed to sew one of those dresses myself! Bang! Handmade beach dress it was!

La Folie - Beach Rowan Tee
I decided to basically copy Boden’s’ design (sorry I know it’s not right but I just love it as it is). For it I used one of my go to patterns the Rowan Tee from Titchy Threads. I lost count to how many times I sewed this pattern! It’s just perfect.

La Folie - Beach Rowan Tee
I made it two sizes bigger than what M. would wear if I was using regular jersey. I wanted a looser fit and also had to take in account the thickness of the fabric itself.
I lengthened it and made side vents, for it to be more comfortable to wear. I should have shortened the sleeves, but as usual forgot and now I’ll say no worries it will last longer… hahah 😉

La Folie - Beach Rowan Tee

La Folie - Beach Rowan Tee

La Folie - Beach Rowan Tee

The fabric is absolutely perfect for it, super soft and cozy, unfortunately this color isn’t available anymore but there’s still some left in black (here). You can get the Rowan Tee pattern here.

La Folie - Beach Rowan Tee

La Folie - Beach Rowan Tee

La Folie - Beach Rowan Tee

I think I should make one for me… heheh

La Folie - Beach Rowan Tee

La Folie - Beach Rowan Tee

Thanks for stoping by. Hugs. ❤

7 thoughts on “Beach Towelling Dress or another hacked Rowan Tee

  1. Copying is fine as long as you are selling the dress or pattern and anyways it’s Boden. But that isn’t the subject here…. That looks like a comfortable dress and super cute too! Love it!

  2. So cool! I really like Boden too. As a teacher of mine used to say “Copying is a sort of compliment”… don’t worry! I really like the trim detail in the side vent.

  3. Could this be any more perfect!! And the details with the slits and your stripe matching at the pocket…GO YOU!!!! She is going to live in that on your vacation!

  4. Pingback: Inespiration – Craftstorming

Let me know what you think...