STYLO 04 . Pink Summer Citrus looks

Hi everyone. First of all I want to thank all the nice comments I got last week when STYLO was released. I feel really blessed to be part of this amazing sewing community, filled with encouraging and supportive people, for all of you big LOVE ❤ ❤ <3!

But also to all my sweet friends who don’t sew but also have super kind words towards my sewing adventures, thank you. ❤ ❤ ❤

And now off to, as promised, share more details on the outfits (can I call them that? hehehe) that I made for the magazine. Today I’m sharing all bout the Pink Summer Citrus look.

La Folie - STYLO 04

So this started with the top you see on Madalena. It’s from the Japanese book A Sunny Spot and I had already used another version of it for my Cross Stitch Collar tutorial for the Sewing Rabbit. This time I chose View M that features a lovely back panel with a little bow, that I think is adorable (and I’m not that into bows as you may know).

sketch

Above is a little sketch that I made as soon as Andrea sent me the preview of the prints. As you can see I didn’t change much on the top. 🙂 I used Michael Millers beautiful eyelet in black as my main fabric, which is amazing, super soft and with a beautiful drape. As lining and back panel I chose a super delicate cotton voile from Michael Levine in Cyan, which is simply the most perfect fabric for this type of project; I only wish I lived in the US to be able to work more often with the amazing options they have on their shop (customs are a pain hehehe).

La Folie - STYLO 04

I first planned to make a skirt to go with it (because Madalena mostly refuses to wear trousers and shorts and I didn’t need that problem hahahah), but then the fabric arrived and I couldn’t help myself but to use Laura’s amazing pattern the Twisted Trousers. And I’m so happy I did!! I think the black pipping works perfectly and Madalena loves them a lot! WIN!

For these I used Summer Citrus (pink) in Spoonflower’s’ incredibly soft and drapey silky faille, which I wouldn’t immediately think as a kids type of fabric (because it’s a bit more fancy) but it’s just perfect for a project like this; and I can tell you that the fact of the fabric being so amazingly soft was an important contributor in Madalena loving them so much. 😀 For the waist I used NOSH rib in dark yellow and if you never used it well you must because the quality is perfection!!

La Folie - STYLO 04sorry for the bad photo but I really didn’t manage to take a focused one showing the rib, gahhh

La Folie - STYLO 04

I really really wanted to make an Ash Jumpsuit for my spread, this pattern was the beginning of everything as far as this blog goes and Celina (Love you girl <3) is included obviously, so this seemed a perfect opportunity to show her some love and appreciation for everything she shared with me.  And it’s all even better because I love the pattern lots!!

La Folie - STYLO 04La Folie - STYLO 04again sorry for the bad photo but I really didn’t manage to take a better full body one, 😦 

Can you blame me, it really makes cute outfits don’t you think? It has so many cool options that you can make lots of different looks with it; this time I chose to make separates (trousers with inseam pockets and top with elasticized waist). For the top I used NOSH flamé cotton knit in dark yellow; I simply love this type of knit, it has such a cool texture, and quality wise I can assure you it’s just brilliant. Regarding the trousers I used the same fabrics as in Madalena’s’ top as main (black lattice eyelet and cyan voile for as lining) which worked perfectly and used some of Summer Citrus silky faille for the inseam pockets.

I also decided to make a Ziggy Top to go with the Ash, I love to see the trousers with the boxy top. I did have to grade it a bit so that it would fit F. since she’s still smaller than size 2 (which is the smallest size included), but I think it works great. I used Summer Citrus (pink) but this time in Spoonflower organic interlock which has the perfect weight for this. Also added a little bit of black piping to the sleeve seam and I’m really happy with it. I also used a bit of NOSH dark yellow rib to finish the neckline.

La Folie - STYLO 04

I had some accessories planed for this photo shoot but life happens to fast and I was so nervous with the photos that I mostly forgot about them except for the little purse I made Madalena. Oh well living and learning… 😀

La Folie - STYLO 04

For the purse I used NOSH dark yellow flame knit, black piping and a super cool twill tape ribbon (that NOSH was so kind to send me as a surprise) for the strap. The lining is made in voile with the other summer citrus print I used for STYLO courtesy of Design on Textile. I’ve made a free pattern and tutorial of this “KOI” purse for the Sewing Rabbit in case anyone else feels like sewing little bags for little girls treasures. 😉

Well that’s all about these outfits but if there’s anything else you’d like to know please tell me about it. I’ll finish with some more photos (some are good enough others not so much heheheh but I felt compelled to share them all hehehe).

La Folie - STYLO 04 La Folie - STYLO 04 La Folie - STYLO 04 La Folie - STYLO 04 La Folie - STYLO 04 La Folie - STYLO 04 La Folie - STYLO 04 La Folie - STYLO 04 La Folie - STYLO 04 La Folie - STYLO 04 La Folie - STYLO 04 La Folie - STYLO 04 La Folie - STYLO 04 La Folie - STYLO 04 La Folie - STYLO 04 La Folie - STYLO 04 La Folie - STYLO 04 La Folie - STYLO 04 La Folie - STYLO 04

La Folie - STYLO 04 La Folie - STYLO 04 La Folie - STYLO 04

Thanks for stopping by! ❤ I’ll be sharing all about the white Summer Citrus looks soon. 😉


All the fabrics used were generously given to me by different sponsors. You can read more information about it here.

6 thoughts on “STYLO 04 . Pink Summer Citrus looks

  1. Once again, you did an amazing job!! The fabrics are so good and well combined 😉 Also have a couple of the Michael Miller eyelet that I am saving not sure what for, but that I want to be special and really like the way you used it combined with the Cyan one.

  2. You are so talented Inês! Love everything, the fabric choices, the patterns, the location… You didn’t need any more accessories, it’s perfect! 😀

  3. Pingback: Young Maleficent costume | La Folie

  4. Pingback: Flared Pullover | La Folie

Let me know what you think...