The Loveralls Skirt

La Folie - Petit a Petit Patterns - Loveralls Skirt

Petit a Petit just released another great pattern. The Loveralls Skirt Pattern was born as  follow up from the Loveralls Pants, which were launched Nov. 1st (you can get it here), and is just as cool. It has been quite fun to work with Celina and Emi at Petit a Petit Patterns, and I’m super excited on what the future will bring. I can’t tell you enough how much work and Love Celina as put into these patterns, all the details you want in a pair of overalls are accounted for and more… Just look at that cute heart pocket detail, seriously…! M. was really happy with it. ❤

La Folie - Petit a Petit Patterns - Loveralls Skirt

The pattern comes with 3 different top options and 3 different skirts you can mix match. I opted for Top option B – mid curved bib with side openings and front heart pocket – combined with  Skirt option 2. For the back I went with patch pockets, but there are many fun options, like pocket flaps for the patch pockets, carpenter pockets and hammer loop. The same options you can find in the pants pattern.

skirt_options

La Folie - Petit a Petit Patterns - Loveralls Skirt
La Folie - Petit a Petit Patterns - Loveralls Skirt

The topstitching was so much fun! I won’t lie, these are a labour of love but so worth it. And honestly if you embrace that you’re probably not going to get all the topstitching perfect at the first attempt it can all go pretty smoothly. I sure had to unpick some of these a few times and I’m so happy I did, not my usual behavior I must say… heheh But thats the thing, when you’re making a great pattern, you feel like stepping up your game and doing better. 😉

It just looks great styled with a Tee or blouse, and don’t get me talking about the perfect match the pants version are, and I’m guessing the skirt is too, to the Tip Top. You can check for yourself in Mie’s fantastic post here. For these photos I paired it with a Tee made last year from a Nosh free pattern; you can find more info on that here and be impressed, like I was, at how well this fabric endured one year of use.

La Folie - Petit a Petit Patterns - Loveralls Skirt

La Folie - Petit a Petit Patterns - Loveralls Skirt

The main fabric was a bargain from my local shop (Feira dos Tecidos), I come to find that it is a bit on the lightweight side for this project but still worked good enough. Interfacing the recommended pieces is a must for this pattern,  even more if you play with thinner fabrics for it. As lining I choose a super pretty quilt weight cotton from Petit Pan, that my sweet friend Ana brought me last summer. ❤ The buckles and buttons were pretty easy to find and seem to work great, bought them at a local shop here in Lisbon (Pra Kriar).  I was going only with the blue topstitching thread but couldn’t help myself and had to add a bit of red to match the lining after Nelleke suggested it on IG. ❤ Love the result!

La Folie - Petit a Petit Patterns - Loveralls Skirt

So wait no more and go get your Loveralls Skirt (here),  its a really fun sew that results in a super cool garment your kids will love! Check out Celina’s post on Petit a Petit (here) for more info on the pattern and some fantastic tester versions to inspire you. There’s also a bundle pack for both the pants and skirt which is a great deal! 😉 (you can yet it here). Don’t forget we’re having a Sewing Block Party with Petit a Petit all month. Get all the info about the tour and giveaway here.

La Folie - Petit a Petit Patterns - Loveralls Skirt

Thanks for stopping by! Hugs. ❤


I know this is a blog about sewing and that you’re not here to know about my music preferences, but today I have to share this. RIP Leonard, thank you for all the music. ❤

3 thoughts on “The Loveralls Skirt

  1. Oh wow, oh wow. Your Loverall Skirt is super cool from afar but up close it is even more beautiful. Such amazing details with the flower printed lining and the two colored PERFECT top stitching. LOVE your styling of the outfit too. And thanks for the shout out my friend! ❤

Let me know what you think...

