From my mother to me

mothercollage

 From my Mother to me is a series organized by the sweet Victoria from As it Seams and it has been one of my favorites series to read ever. I had the great pleasure to meet Victoria a few weeks ago at London Sew Social, it was so cool and amazing, but more on that soon. When I read through the first series, two years ago, I was really moved by all the lovely stories, my heart melts with old photos and great memories. I wish I had a more romantic story to share but I do hope you still have fun reading. Moms always deserve some Love! 😉

FROMMYMOTHERTOME_002

My mom in the late 70’s I think.

My beautiful mom has been throughout her life, much by need but also because she enjoyed working, a career woman. She was devoted to it and extremely competent. This meant she often worked Saturday’s, and that most nights she brought work home or was improving her studies; so not much time left for craft projects or to make me or my sister interested in anything sewing related. She was taught by her grandmother and mother to do all the traditional things women would learn but her generation was definitely pushed in a different direction. And we should be grateful it happened because now we can enjoy sewing and crafting because we love it and are passioned about it and not because its our role in society.

She does have impeccable style and I remember she used to buy most her clothes at a special boutique downtown Lisbon where she had them altered to fit her perfectly. She was also really particular about the way my sister and I dressed when we were little (at least when it came to pretty dresses; anything before I turned six was cool then the 80’s style came in all its glory hahahah) and she liked to buy good quality clothes. I think my love for kids style may have it’s roots there.  I used to be a better dressed kid than I am an adult, what happened to me? heheh

FROMMYMOTHERTOME_003

I’m not sure if this was handmade but its pretty, and I’m sure you’re loving this photo of me with ice-cream all over! hahah

 All my grandparents died young too, before I was even born, so I din’t have a grandmother or grandfather to pass me some knowledge either. My aunt and two of my uncles  definitely were the big creative influence when I was growing up. My aunt sews sometimes and makes beautiful embroidery, she even did some traditional Portuguese tapestries, they did ceramics, some jewelry (if I remember correctly) and painted, so I can’t say there wasn’t an “arts and crafts” vibe going on around me. But lets not forget I was born in 1980; by the time I was ten, Lisbon was entering the “buy all things on malls and giant supermarkets era” and I guess that took its tole on the “will to make things” around our house. We had a sewing machine at some point but I don’t really remember anyone using it.

Yep my mom din’t really knew how to handle my hair! bahahah

I do remember my mom knitting when I was little and there’s even a fun story regarding a hat that I wanted, but it only works in Portuguese so I’ll skip it heheh. I remember to love that sweater she made me on the photo above, and just looking at this makes me realize how much my mother is far more patient than I; I just don’t have what takes when it comes to knitting. My sister was luckier in getting some hand-made pretty dresses from her; lucky older sisters hahaha, hope F. never feels neglected by her mostly hand down handmade closet… 😉 But I have to be honest and face that growing up there weren’t that many handmade projects in our home.

She’s always been very fond of decoration though, and she even designed the rebuilt of her house at the country side by herself;  I can tell you that she does have pretty good sense of space. That is her big never-ending craft project, I believe that that house and surrounding garden are her creative outlet. 😀 I remember having fun going through her decoration magazines, I guess its fair to say she influenced my interest in architecture.

It was only when my oldest nephew was born that I really realized my mom liked handmade projects. By then we were all excited preparing things for the new baby and it was when I learned cross stitch,  which I really like as you may know. 😀

FROMMYMOTHERTOME_006

Muslin squares I decorated with cross stitch for my daughters. The person who did this no longer exists in me! hahaha well maybe she returns if I ever have grand-kids… 😉

From then on, she made some things for my nephews and my daughters when they were born like pretty embroidered bed sheets and she taught me to knit a few years ago but for some reason I never really asked her for advice regarding sewing. I honestly think she’s not that into it and that she prefers knitting, crochet and embroidery to sitting in front of the machine.  But I definitely feel that she passed me the love for embroidery and more delicate work. I don’t do it often because I’m always so eager to finish things quickly, ahem but I love the end results and I do know it makes certain projects much more special.

FROMMYMOTHERTOME_005

Dress made by my mom for F.

We actually have plans for a project together, a dress for M. with a crochet top similar to the one she did for F. in the above photo, we bought  fabric and yarn two years ago already! hahah Mom lets do this! 😉 And I totally have to ask her to teach me how to crochet, so you see there’s always time to learn more from our mothers!

FROMMYMOTHERTOME_007

I also want to say if there’s something my mom did pass on to me, is the importance of family. We are one big crazy loud family but we really stick together; and that my friends requires a hole lot of creativity sometimes! heheheh

❤ ❤ ❤

Read all the great stories on this series, here’s a list of all the participants:

Monday May 9
Little Cumquat
 
Tuesday May 10
 
Wednesday May 11
 
Thursday May 12
As it Seams

Oh and don’t forget to enter the really cool giveaway from Miss Matatabi. 😉 Just follow the link – a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thanks for stopping by.

Hugs! ❤

FROMMYMOTHERTOME_001

My mom and baby me. ❤

7 thoughts on “From my mother to me

  1. What a nice way to honor moms! I grew up in a (modern) Mennonite family. I remember my mom cutting out dozens after dozens of pieces of fabric that would get assembled into quilts at church. She didn’t actively teach me to sew but I used to watch and observe. It always seemed so tedious at the time, ha ha!

  2. OMGosh could you be any cuter!!! I’m dying!! I loved reading your post and it shows a lot of love for your Mom so that is romantic too, right!!

  3. Thank you Ines for taking part! You look soooo like your mum! And your curls as a little girl, just adorable. I love that you cross stitched those muslins. And I can’t wait to see your collaboration with your mum, that’s such a lovely thing to do, to think that you’re both still sewing and creating together. V x

Let me know what you think...

