Hearts Dress

A couple of months ago I had the impulse to learn how to make seamless patterns that I could use to digitally print on fabric. I love the idea of being able to decide exactly how I want my fabric to be.  I ended up with a mini “collection” with 4 designs, and although they are super simple and not really original I’m really happy with how they turned out. One of the prints is this one with little black hearts over blue, that I chose to order in lightweight twill from Spoonflower. 

Pretty much since the Loveralls pattern was released that I’ve been dreaming of making a circle skirt version, and as soon as I got this fabric I knew it was just what I was looking for that project. Since I had just finished testing the Spin Dress from Madeit Patterns I figured I could mix both patterns to save time. Yep it worked out perfect, except I should have made one size bigger, I keep forgetting my youngest has a sweet baby tummy that I have to take in account. Anyway, after realizing it was tight and super hard to dress I added an invisible (sort of ahem) zipper to the side seam, and for I while I was happy it worked but, after using it for a full day after these photos my girl still complains that it is tight and doesn’t want to wear it. Sniff Sniff Sniff I feel I could die hahaha this is my first total sewing failure size wise, up until now everything ended up being used, and I’m sad (that is an understatement). But enough with that… lol

For the straps I used black elastic instead of making them from fabric, kind of like suspenders, fastened with plastic snaps in black. Lastly I hemmed the skirt part with bias tape also in black for some contrast and I love it. I figured the fabric would be hard to hem, we can say circle skirts are not my forte when it comes to hemming so I decided to play it safe. Heheheh

Despite the fitting issues, I’m really happy with the result of this, I’m still deciding what I’ll do with it, I will probably sell it. I’m even considering opening a Facebook group to sell some things that no longer fit my girls but that are still in perfect condition like this swimsuit (here) or this dress (here), and also some new items like the dress in this post, anyone interested in that? 

My mini collection of prints is available at my Spoonflower shop. I think this one would be super cute for swimsuits too, just sayin’. 😀 You can check it out here.

You can get the Loveralls Pattern here and the Spin Dress pattern here.

Thanks for stopping by! Hugs! ❤

7 thoughts on “Hearts Dress

  1. Such a shame 😦

    If you take of just a cm from the skirts top you win a lot of width! (Careful…) Don’t you have enough fabric let for a new bodice, just a bit longer too?

  2. Oh this is the saddest story ever, okay maybe not ever but sad for sure! This dress definitely needs to be worn! It is so absolutely adorable! There would definitely be buyers for it!

Let me know what you think...

