Project Sew It – March

Spring has arrived and I can’t think of anything else but warm sunny days. Unfortunately someone forgot to tell Mother Nature because its super cold, windy, and rainy here in Lisbon… sigh Nevertheless I’ve set my brain to spring/summer sewing so my March Project Sew It make is definitely in tune.


This month the theme was Pants, which was scary because up until now I only had made one pair for myself (you can see them here). I quickly decided I wanted to try a Japanese pattern from the book “Clean and Natural”; ever since I got the book I wanted to try them in some sort of stable knit and as soon as I saw this gorgeous blue flamé jersey from NOSH (available here) I knew it was meant to be. You can see a review of this book over at Japanese Sewing Patterns (here).


As per my measurements I choose size L, with no changes apart from adding 2cm in length; I quickly realised I could have sized down but I still like this relaxed fit and I’ll wear them plenty for sure. They’re similar in style to the ones I made from Named, except they have less fabric on the front which I like. Since I was making them in knit I changed a few things construction wise but the final result is pretty much the same thing. 🙂 I’m super in love with this color, I think I have enough left for a sleeveless top, maybe mixed with some off white flame from my stash… ohh ideas ideas, I need more time or maybe less procrastination. Heheh

It seems I should have pressed better that center seam before taking photos, that weird shade… whatever LOL looking at this makes me think that maybe I shouldn’t size down after all. 😀


As I was thinking on what to wear with the pants to take these photos I remembered this top, made back in January, that I had only shared on IG. Gosh I’m digging this outfit, totally random match because it didn’t cross my mind when making the pants but I think the two pieces really work good together.

This is from a previous photoshoot, I figured there was no point in making another post for this top. 🙂

It’s a free pattern from Nani Iro, well it’s actually measurements for you to draft but I promise it’s super easy and totally worth it if you’re into this style; it only comes in one size but I believe it’s pretty easy to adjust.


The only thing I changed was the knit binding on the neckline, which is one of my current favourite things. It’s easy to make and to put on, double win! 😀 Fabric wise I choose a rayon something off cut from my local fabric shop, with a kind of ethnic print, it’s super flowy and I really love the colours.


And that’s it, so far I’m really sticking to my Project Sew It commitment, so much that I just finished a second pair of pants, actually it’s a jumpsuit, in similar style but more fitted, stay tuned. 😉  You can check out NOSH fabrics here; a great selection of Japanese sewing books here and the Free Nani Iro top pattern here.
Thanks for stopping by. Hugs! ❤

5 thoughts on “Project Sew It – March

  1. It really is such a great outfit and goes together so well. I think you probably can size down the pants but then they will look slightly different. So it’s really what style you go for…both will be great I think!

Let me know what you think...

