Cocoon Dress

La Folie - Cocoon Dress - Pattern by Groovy Baby and Mama

You know when you meet someone online and you imagine how they are in real life? I had the pleasure to meet Trine, one of the Fashion/Style Guru’s of my sewing world and the creative mind behind the blog Groovy Baby and Mama, for real in London (more on that here) and she was exactly how I imagined her. ❤ A calm, gentle and kind person but also funny and good spirited, gorgeous and naturally: always in perfect style. Above all we share the same love for Game of Thrones could I ask for more? Hahah

It was really amazing to meet her. ❤ But now to the point of this post…

A few months ago sweet Trine released her first sewing pattern The Cocoon Dress. I immediately loved everything about it; but you already know how slow I am, and that from the moment I fall in love with a pattern and the moment I actually come around to sew it it can take a while… Ahem…

La Folie - Cocoon Dress - Pattern by Groovy Baby and Mama
But a few days ago I just went for it. I made one for M. first in size 6 and loved how it turned out. I did change the sleeves a bit according to what I had read on my friend Olga’s blog (and what a gorgeous version she made by the way – see it here), so I used size seven sleeves and I think it worked perfect. I also changed the neckline finish and added a band (I made these changes on both versions).

La Folie - Cocoon Dress - Pattern by Groovy Baby and Mama

La Folie - Cocoon Dress - Pattern by Groovy Baby and Mama
M. certainly loved it too and F. kept the rest of the day asking me to make her one, and so I did. I made her size 3 but I think I should have done 4 since it seems a bit short for her, she still loved it and it works perfectly with some leggings.
I used some Frech Terry from my local shop (Feira dos Tecidos) as main and some black jersey for the flounce. ❤

La Folie - Cocoon Dress - Pattern by Groovy Baby and Mama

La Folie - Cocoon Dress - Pattern by Groovy Baby and Mama
I just know I’ll be making many more of these, love the shape; I’m currently wishing it came in my size. Hehe

La Folie - Cocoon Dress - Pattern by Groovy Baby and Mama

La Folie - Cocoon Dress - Pattern by Groovy Baby and Mama

La Folie - Cocoon Dress - Pattern by Groovy Baby and Mama

M. on her way to school. She’s in a Star Wars phase so this black/grey dress just suits her perfectly. 😉

Thank you so much dear Trine for being so inspiring and for coming up with this super cool design. ❤

La Folie - Cocoon Dress - Pattern by Groovy Baby and Mama

Thanks for stopping by.

Hugs. ❤

11 thoughts on “Cocoon Dress

  1. Now you have this old lady all teary eyed and blushing. I love your versions so so much.
    We need to meet soon again – we have a jingle to finish, a series to discuss and all the fabric to buy ♡

  2. SERIOUSLY!!! Could your girls and these dresses be any more gooorgeous!!! I’m absolutely obsessed with this fabric and it is SO perfect for this style. I want one, I really really do!!!!

  3. Oh these are so cute and I love that they have matching dress. I want one too! Such a great print and so good for this style. Your girls are seriously adorable. ❤

Let me know what you think...

