Sewing for summer . A Sunny Spot Top

Summer is coming! Or is it Winter? Hehehe Yeah I’m so ready for the return of Game of Thrones! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Sorry for the weird geek fan moment. Lol

Seriously now, I’m so over winter that summer sewing already started around here.

La Folie - Top from "A Sunny Spot"

My first project for M.’s summer wardrobe started with the fabric. This pretty gauze was found at my local fabric shop, while fabric shopping before lunch with my dear sewing gang heheh. As soon as I saw it I new I had to make a particular top from the A Sunny Spotย Japanese book; I only have the 2012 one but I love every project in it (you can see a review on this book here).

La Folie - Top from "A Sunny Spot"
I made pattern A in size 120cm, a flowy top perfect for warm days.
It’s a fairly simple project, and if my fabric wasn’t so lightweight and fiddly it would probably go even faster. Oh and it would have been great if I didn’t interface the hem and not the button placket on one of the front pieces, and that while cutting a second pattern piece to replace the one I ruined I didn’t cut it on the wrong side! Sigh I have such a short attention span… lol I keep making these silly mistakes and it kills me to ruin pretty fabric… Luckily I had just enough to make it happen despite my mistakes.

La Folie - Top from "A Sunny Spot"
It took me a while to have courage to make the buttonholes. In fact it was only when my dear friend Patricia kindly gave me the perfect buttons for it that I felt the stars were aligned and I could go for it.

I used the automatic buttonhole function on my machine and it worked perfectly. Phew. It’s always a bit stressful to make them right? And then sewing the buttons gahh least favourite part! But it got done and I absolutely love it, and even better M. Loved it a lot. โค

La Folie - Top from "A Sunny Spot"

The fabric is a bit sheer but it will be perfect for warm summer days and until then she can wear it with a long sleeve underneath. Win!

These are the first photos since M. had her haircut. She had been asking me to cut her hair shorter on one side while leaving it longer on the other. I don’t know where she got the idea but I love that she didn’t change her mind even though it’s been a few months since she first asked. She was determined to do it and I think she looks super cute. โค Ok enough on haircut/proud-mom blabber right? Heheh ๐Ÿ˜‰

La Folie - Top from "A Sunny Spot"La Folie - Top from "A Sunny Spot"

I’m really happy with this pattern and I’m looking forward to make a few others from this book. Japanese books have a special place in my heart, they didn’t disappoint me yet, I usually buy mine at Retrosaria since their selection is always great. Oh and don’t forget to check out Mie Sew Japan series at Petit ร  Petit and Family. This month there’s a cool giveaway (here) but you have to hurry since the deadline to enter is today.

La Folie - Top from "A Sunny Spot" La Folie - Top from "A Sunny Spot" La Folie - Top from "A Sunny Spot"

Thanks for stopping by.

Hugs โค

9 thoughts on “Sewing for summer . A Sunny Spot Top

  1. You already know how much I looooove this top and to make it in that fabric is just perfection. Heart eyes x a million. And the hair is perfect for her career as a DJ ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. So sweet!!! I bought the book recently and I think it’s the best! After seeing this top I’m even more eager to start sewing something (or everything) from it.
    Love her hair! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Ficou linda! E os botรตes da Patricia sรฃo mesmo perfeitos. Adoro!
    Acho que, por tua causa, nรฃo me safo de comprar este livro… ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. Such a beautiful, floaty top. The fabric is lovely. And I’m with you on the buttonholes – it’s so easy to mess them up and ruin everything (and SO hard to unpick them!). Often I just use snaps instead, but the buttons on this top look absolutely perfect.

Let me know what you think...

