Celebrating 15 years of OTTOBRE design

So here we are on the last day of Portuguese Bloggers Sew Ottobre Tour.

La Folie - Celebrating Ottobre Design

In the rare possibility that you still don’t know what I’m talking about… haha (as if that’s even possible hehehe) I’ll introduce you to it. A few months (ok a year ago) some friends and I were talking about how cool to finally have Ottobre Design magazine on Portuguese newsstands, and sweet Marta suggested it would be cool to celebrate it,  later we discovered that it’s Ottobre’s 15th birthday this year so it made even more sense to prepare something fun. And so we did! 😀

OTTOBRE_bloggerList_white

La Folie - Celebrating Ottobre Design

It took me a while to decide what to make, but when I finally settled I sewed everything real quick, it is pretty easy to work with these patterns. I decided to make a coat, top and skirt. The top is from issue 1/2015, and its number 11 – Smart Guitars. I made no changes to it. The fabric is from NOSH Women’s summer collection, that I had  left from this top (I know… I know, I seem obsessed, but the fabrics are gorgeous and amazing, what can I do?… heheh).  I’m really happy and M. is too. 😀

La Folie - Celebrating Ottobre Design

The skirt is only partly Ottobre because I only noticed I didn’t have enough fabric for the pattern’s design after making my mind on the fabrics, and I was so smitten on this pairing, that I couldn’t change… So I used the waistband of pattern number 25 Montmartre from issue 4/2010 and added a basic gathered skirt. 😀 I had some trouble understanding how to cut the waistband because of a dashed line in the diagram of the instructions, but I’m lucky to have good friends with whom I can share my dumbness, and that help me figure out basic things ahaha. 😀 😀

La Folie - Celebrating Ottobre Design

The fabric is an adorable print in quilting cotton from Cotton and Steel, I bought at Miss Matatabi a few months ago. ❤ I also have it in white… Madalena really loves her skirt, and she already styled it as a top too after the photos… Whatever, as long as she’s happy right? hahaha The waist piece is made with some thick rib knit I had on my stash from my local fabric shop a.k.a. Feira dos Tecidos.

La Folie - Celebrating Ottobre Design

And the coat… This was actually the first thing I decided to make. It’s pattern number 23 Blue Monday from issue 6/2014. I used organic interlock from Organic Cotton Plus, and I really like the result. It’s super comfy and M. didn’t want to take it off, which made my heart smile naturally. 😉

La Folie - Celebrating Ottobre DesignLa Folie - Celebrating Ottobre Design

I chose wood buttons after a small indecision between these or mother of pearl ones, but I’m happy with the final choice. Lets not talk about the automatic button hole feature of my machine because we ARE NOT friends for now, and until I have patience to give it another try, I even dedicated it a particular verse of this Smiths song; let me know if you can guess it :D, or don’t because it’s not a nice thing heheheh. My good old sewing machine solved my problems, it makes good enough button holes and not a massacre like the one you see on the photo. LOL I used a ribbon to finish the hood seam for a clean finish. This one is special because it was part of a beautiful wedding present I got from good ❤ ❤ ❤ friends, miss you L.

La Folie - Celebrating Ottobre Design

I’m becoming quite a fan of Ottobre, and I can assure you that you’ll see many more of their patterns around here. I used a few on my last post too and I’m loving the perfect fit and cool designs.

La Folie - Celebrating Ottobre Design

Photo shoot props were her idea, I think she’s way better than me at this!! heheheh 😀

La Folie - Celebrating Ottobre Design

We had a fantastic time and lots of fun (I’m sure I can speak for my fellow bloggers who took part) and we even managed to inspire Kristi to join us, how cool is that?!

Don’t forget to check everyone’s beautiful makings, I’m dead curious to see Magda’s post who is sharing this final day with me. 🙂

Here’s a list with all my dear friends posts:

Thursday, October 15 – DoGuincho
Friday, October 16 – Miss Castelinhos  |  Rita Pirolita
Monday, October 19 – In a Manner of Sewing  |  Conversas de Hermanas
Tuesday, October 20 – Fairies, Bubbles & Co.  |  Maças d’Amor
Wednesday, October 21 – Made by Sara  |  Saídos da Concha
Thursday, October 22 – Pico Pico  |  Pequeno Mundo a 3+1
Friday, October 23 – S is for Sewing  |  Sew Happy
Monday, October 26 – La Folie Sewing Booth  |  House of Estrela
And lets not forget the super cool giveaway that comes along with this tour.

Ottobre design(R) was outstandingly kind – a huge thank you for your generosity!

Seven lucky readers from all of the participants blogs will win one of the following:
– five one-year subscriptions for Ottobre magazine (kids+women’s issues)
– one gift card of 50 euros to Ottobre’s fabric shop on Etsy
– one gift card of 30 euros to Maças d’Amor fabric shop (where you can find nani IRO, Cotton and Steel, Dashwood Studio, Soft Cactus prints and many more), brought to you by all the Portuguese bloggers participating on this tour.

The giveaway will be open from October 15th to October 29th. Enter the Rafflecopter below for a chance to win!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

*Open internationally. You must have +18 years old to enter. Void were prohibited by law.

La Folie - Celebrating Ottobre Design La Folie - Celebrating Ottobre Design La Folie - Celebrating Ottobre DesignLa Folie - Celebrating Ottobre DesignLa Folie - Celebrating Ottobre DesignLa Folie - Celebrating Ottobre Design

Naturally I couldn’t go away without leaving you with a silly fun gif! Thank you for stoping by!

xoxo

La Folie - Celebrating Ottobre Design

 

33 thoughts on “Celebrating 15 years of OTTOBRE design

  1. So pretty!!!! I love all the colour combo and fabrics!!!…this post is making me a NOSH and Ottober converter! Lovely post as always too. The automatic button holes is not something my machine loves to make ether…I think is better to make them manually, also maybe add some interface fabric? anyway…That coat is amazingly cute and looks very cozy 🙂

  2. Adorei todas as peças, mas como diz a Rita, o casaco é claramente a peça em destaque. E já reparaste como ambas as nossas filhas estavam felizes pelas peças da Ottobre? hehehe 😉

  3. Hahaha, what a fun post. Love everyhting. The clothes, the styling, the props. And the shoes. This seems to be a secret deal between all of you. Rubber boots rule, don’t they?

  4. Ahhhh perfect fabric pairings! Seriously adorable!! And that coat!!!! Sooooo good. I can totally understand why she will not take it off!! And ugh buttonholes in knit is SO hard. My machine is really struggling too! But can I recommend you (if there is ever a next time, ha) to make them vertical (at least it looks like you made them horizontal to me) so you don’t make them in the stretch direction. I think that would help you a little bit. Kiss and hugs!

  5. Gosto de tudo! Mas o que gosto mesmo mais e queria ter para mim, é o casaco! Tem mesmo aquela “cara” de casaco que vestimos todos os dias até já não ser mesmo possivel.
    Adorei a animação final, e as cores de festa! 🙂 ❤

  6. Nem sei por onde começar 🙂
    Ficou tudo tão giro – o casaco, a t-shirt, a saia (adoro o print), as maravilhosas malhas da Nosh (ás quais tenho resistido estoicamente, porque tu não facilitas…), o maravilhoso styling e .. a gif animada (a sério?! Super cool) ❤
    It's almost impossible not to become an Ottobre fan after all these lovely creations 🙂

  7. Oh Ines!! Everything is so beautiful!!! 😍😍😍😍😍 That coat is spectacular — especially with the special ribbon! And I love the top and skirt pairing. I also love how the skirt also “works” as a top, lol! You know I have a little girl who likes to do that, too 😉

  8. What lovely creations, and a generous giveaway! I’ve always wanted to try Ottobre but never have. Thanks for the chance to win!

  9. Man, all of your details are so perfect! I love the way you sewed the pockets with the small triangle. And I love the way you finished the jacket neckline with ribbon. So pretty! I may have to make this top for my girls, too. It looks so great! Such an awesome outfit all around! And look at your tech-savviness with that last photo. Impressive all around!

  10. Pingback: Refashion Month @ House of Estrela | La Folie

Let me know what you think...

