Young Maleficent costume

Happy halloween!!

Ok, the truth is, here in Portugal we don’t really have a big halloween tradition, the fact that it started being celebrated is mostly due to shops that see it as an opportunity to push consumerism… Nevertheless the kid in me still remembers really well all the magic and fantasy that goes into dressing a costume, so whenever I can, I make them. At Madalena’s school they are allowed to dress up in costumes on the halloween day or the day that precedes it, in cases it happens during the weekend, and she told me a couple of months ago that she wanted to go as young Maleficent (this happened right after she saw the movie but she really stuck to her choice).

La Folie - young Maleficent costume

I’ll be honest, I wasn’t feeling this costume at all. I didn’t want to make it, period. I tried to make her change her mind, but there was no going back… (I’m pretty sure her choice was mostly about being able to wear red lipstick hehehe) I could have said no but I know she will wear this a million times; both my girls love dressing up and spend lots of time “dressed as something” when they are home. So I just went for it.

La Folie - young Maleficent costume

The fabric came all from my local fabric shop, four pre-cuts that suited what I was imagining perfectly, and they only cost 10€, score! 😉

I used a Japanese pattern from the book A Sunny Spot (already used it here) has a starting point to make the dress. I have to send a big thank you to Toya who helped me figuring out a faster way to cut the wing “feathers” because I was dreading it. She made an amazing dragon costume by the way.

La Folie - young Maleficent costume

Yep, I sewed every single one of those feathers… I’m a crazy person, I know… 🙂

La Folie - young Maleficent costume

The horns were another thing I was dreading, I’m not really crafty, I’m not good with the hot glue gun or with spray painting, and stuff like that. Again I have to thank Toya, but also my friend Cláudia who told me to make it in cardboard or paper. I went with paper and duct tape, covered with special double sided tape, and finally with fabric. Not perfect but good enough. 😀 And she was so happy this morning!

La Folie - young Maleficent costume

 ❤

La Folie - young Maleficent costume La Folie - young Maleficent costume La Folie - young Maleficent costume La Folie - young Maleficent costume La Folie - young Maleficent costume

I bet she’s spending her recess time flying!! ❤

La Folie - young Maleficent costumeLa Folie - young Maleficent costume La Folie - young Maleficent costume La Folie - young Maleficent costume

Little F. also decided she wanted to dress up this morning, so she chose a squirrel (yeah looks like a wolf but whatever) costume I made for M. a few years ago. It was actually the first one I made, and it shows… hehehe But I think she looks adorable. 😉

 La Folie - costume La Folie - costume La Folie - costume La Folie - costume La Folie - costume La Folie - costume

Thank you for stopping by and Happy Halloween! Have Fun!

xoxo

10 thoughts on “Young Maleficent costume

  1. Awww, you can just see how happy she is! What a beautiful costume!!! The wings are incredible!! And how cute is your little squirrel!! My kids really wished they could wear their costumes to school today but that’s not part of the school’s tradition :-/

  2. Love!!! The colours and fabric works so well together. And all those feathers… you are crazy! When I made MissE’s flamingo costume, I sewed all the feathers across not length wise! Beautiful! And that squirrel is the cutest. I wish the squirrels here looked like that! 😉 xxx

  3. I don’t think I could have been smiling any bigger the entire time I read this post! For one, my girls, and especially Tia, love lipstick, so I totally get that desire for her. I seriously cannot handle that second photo! She looks so proud! GAH!!!! Heart eyes for miles. And you are not crazy – that is true mama love! The costume is amazing, as is her smile. Your little squirrel would not be any cuter, either! That is a very impressive first costume! The tail! Oh man, you have two stunning daughters and this post made my heart so full!

Let me know what you think...